The Stag Room

A Guy's Blog About Anything

My First Blog

So, here I am writing my first blog because I like to hear myself talk, at least that’s what my beautiful bride says. This will be a place for me to share things that I think are cool, interesting, useful or maybe tastes good. If I discover products I think are worthy to talk about, I’ll share my thoughts here. I have MANY interests, so visit often. Let’s get started.

We have a wood burning fireplace and during cold Michigan winters, burn a lot of wood. I use an old school splitting maul like most of us do. I had a friend post this newly designed axe by a gentleman in Finland on Facebook. This thing splits wood like crazy.

Called The Vipukirves, it is used like a conventional ax, except that you loosen your grip on the handle when the blade strikes the log, as it automatically inclines to the right, creating torque that multiplies the splitting force and detaches the chopped part from the log with one strike. This keeps the blade from getting stuck in the log. The ax head is attached to the handle from the side and not through the center, changing the center of gravity of the ax. I don’t have one of these but it’s on the short list. That’s all I have for now.

– jb

Screen shot 2014-10-07 at 10.51.36 AM

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2014 by in Ax, outdoors, tools, wood and tagged , , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber